Better than nothing

November 16, 2008

apug-running-boy-chiang-mai

Chiang Mai, Thailand   August ’08   Nikon 28ti   Kodak EPP

I took this early August in Chiang Mai, Thailand. It was late afternoon & there was a torrential downpour. Happened most afternoons. I had an umbrella but it wasn’t much use in such heavy rain. For a while I sheltered one someone’s porch in an apartment building but then I got tired of waiting & decided to walk back to my lodgings. The gutters were overflowing & the streets were flooding.


I saw a group of schoolboys running along the footpath seeking shelter. None of them had umbrellas. I got my Nikon 28ti auto camera out from the belt pouch. It was a bit awkward as I was trying to operate it one handed while staying under the umbrella. Just managed to get it ready when the last kid ran by. He laughed with joy when he saw what I was up to & then ran into one of the many grand buddhist temples to escape the rain.

The strange colour is from the cross processing. EPP typically goes a bit green/blue. Ideally I would have liked to have been a bit more prepared & tilted down slightly to get more of his feet & the ground in the frame but I didn’t have time. I figured it was better than nothing & overall I’m pretty happy with the end result.

One Response to “Better than nothing”

  1. sally thorp Says:

    great shot


Leave a Reply

