teapin Miyako

July 5, 2011

This was a 45 minute exposure while I was in a Japanese restaurant. Using HP5 4×5 film in a cylindrical pinhole camera, home made. My ambient light reading was about EV 5.3 at 400 ISO, whereas recently I’ve been getting decent results with one hour exposures at EV 8.5. I was only there for 45 minutes and it seemed pointless to hang around for hours to build up the exposure. Being that it was around 3 stops underexposed, I gave it extra time in the developer. Followed the Massive Dev Chart which suggested 22 minutes for HP5 at 3200. It worked out pretty well density wise. This is a neg scan but I plan to make an enlarged print and take back to show them – waitresses always think I’m insane when I ask them not to move the tea tin because it is a camera.

Leave a Reply

