Vegetarian’s Xmas Horror

December 30, 2011

Saw this in someone’s kitchen on Christmas day. I’m not sure if you have to skin the pig to get at the ham or if the butcher throws the skin in for free. It was grotesquely fascinating to see it lying there like an orange peel. Visually I liked the shape and thought it might work tonally as a B&W with the metal sheen of the sink. Colour was too visceral. I took this with Kodak Tri-X in a Pentax 67 with the 90mm lens. Tried to set up a tripod but the angle was too awkward so I ended up standing on a stool and bending over. Was fingers crossed that I would get one sharp frame considering the mirror slap of the 67. That’s why I chose the 90mm lens – because I could use the maximum aperture of f/2.8 and get a shutter speed of 1/60.

This was processed in Adonal (Rodinal) 1:50 for 13 minutes.

Leave a Reply

