Brought To Light

September 16, 2012

I’ve just updated the Brought To Light section of my website by adding the item shown here. I use this section to gather together images and text by people who are offering light sensitive photographic materials for sale, but have ruined them by the act of photographing them. It shows how the emergence of digital imaging has been accompanied by a forgetting of the essential nature of traditional materials.

Most of these come from ebay of course, where clear, descriptive photos are expected. This one was from August 2012. I’m sure there are some topics about which I am ignorant in a way that would shock those for whom it is common knowledge, in the same way that I am constantly amazed at how so many people don’t seem to know that traditional film and photographic paper must be protected from all light apart from that which is used to expose an image onto them.

3 Responses to “Brought To Light”

  1. Natalie Says:

    My heart bleeds when I see this.. so sad 😦

  2. Ralf Says:

    Hi,

    why did you destroy all this good and valuable photo equipment?

    • whystoptime Says:

      Hi, if you read my text you will see that these are all from ebay auctions that I found. Each is from a different seller. I have collected the images and put them at the website.


Leave a Reply

