4×5 project, August 2016 #8

September 20, 2016

I decided to test some Plus-X I was given a couple of months back. This was an opened box and the film had expired in June 1998. The person who gave it to me had been given it by someone else, however I was told that it had been in a freezer. I was also told that other old film from the same source had worked out OK. I used to like using Plus-X in 35mm and I particularly recall liking it rated at 400 and processed in Diafine. Kodak discontinued Plus-X in 35mm about 2010 or 2011, however the sheet film versions were discontinued around 2005. I rated this at 100 (box speed was 125 but 100 is easy to meter) and processed in Rodinal 1+50 for 13 minutes. It worked out well with low base fog and good exposure. There seems to be about fifteen sheets still in the box so I will work through the rest.

4x5-day8-plusx-surryhills

Kodak Plus-X with Symmar 210mm, above and below

4x5-day8-plusx-henson047-copy

The exposure below was made on the same day, just after the top photo, however this was using the last of the Adox CHS II. The lens was a Sironar N 150mm. This and the first photo were done in Surry Hills and the middle one was at Marrickville.

4x5-day8-chs2-150mm-surry-hills-warehouse

Leave a Reply

